Showing posts with label The Secret. Show all posts
Showing posts with label The Secret. Show all posts

Saturday, January 1, 2011

The Theme! (and intentions)

Happy New Year all!

This is a two fold post - first, it serves to get all that resolution crap out of the way. But second, and more importantly, I'm announcing the THEME for 2011! (Can you stand it!)

OK, here's the deal. I'm don't want to make any resolutions this year (they sound so 'U.N. peacekeeping Mission' to me, eh?) Some years I make them (not Un Peace Keeping Resolutions, but just resolutions), and some years I don't...

But I definitely have a "To Do" list.

This year I'd like to:
  • Make my own cheese (even just once)
  • Get a 'real' blog and a grown up website
  • Do the splits
  • Dry tomatoes
  • Plant and harvest potatoes & corn (and a bunch of other stuff; but I didn't do these last time)
  • (Take a more active role?)/ Better support Holden in becoming an EC graduate and Diaper Free!
  • Paint our bedroom "Still Moment" by FreshAire
  • Bottle so many cans of Spaghetti sauce/tomatoes that canned tomato sauce will be rendered useless to me
  • Get a pedicure (at least) quarterly
Moving on:

I like how in a lot of Yoga classes (and I often do this with my students), the instructor will invite you to 'set an intention'. The first time I heard this, I thought "Oh, set a goal." And as if the teacher had read my mind, she said "This is not a goal" and something about the interconnectedness of everything and how setting the intention makes it already realized (which sounds a lot like THE SECRET to me, but I dig it.)

And this year's intentions:
  • Be kinder to my husband, and more patient with my child
  • Eat consciously for a more sustainable planet
  • (a subset of the last bullet point, but a key) Eat animals that have had happy lives (call it wild, free range, or whatever you please. It's more than 'organic'... it's about sustainability and consciousness. Besides, I'm usually a vegetarian in the summer anyway
  • Run, Run, Run
  • Yoga a go-go
  • Make a Baby
Which leads me to the year's theme (and thanks to everyone who submitted ideas):

BABY MAKIN'S HEAVEN IN 2011!

Thursday, January 3, 2008

Procreate in 2008 and other Uses for "The Secret"

The secret to good French Onion Soup is patience… well patience, a good merlot and really expensive cheese. New Year’s Eve we had all three (seriously, we made this!!!).

Of course, the patience was not supplied by moi – I am so lacking in that area that it’s disgusting. But Danny’s buddy Quentin and his wife made the trek to Sun Valley for a New Year’s getaway fete.

It was amazing, the onions were caramelized…. The merlot was this adorable boxed wine variety we got called “French Rabbit” that was perfect for cooking… the focaccia bread we bought a few days prior and never consumed had nearly hardened, so needless to say it was perfect to place on top before we let the gruyere (fancy cheese) melt into a pristine state of perfection.

Danny had about four bites before declaring it too rich (the “caramelizing” also takes about 4 TBSP of pure butter for 4 servings).

So why do I share this story of soup de jour?

Well, I’m cooking French onion soup right now (it’s already failed miserably from New Years Eve’s creation . . .. no patience for the caramelizing..)

But I was trying to cook from our house. Prior to this evening, I’d only had saltines, a handful of wheat thins and some OJ.

I told Danny I didn’t want to “DIET” in 2008. The word is sworn off from my vocabulary… but I did think it might be a good idea to start making healthier choices. Like what would I eat if I were carrying a child, or nursing, or if I had an infant to feed?

AGAIN, WE ARE NOT PREGO…

But eventually we’ll get off the birth control (both forms we’ve currently invoked) and have to start thinking about the pitter-patter of little feet.

Like I said, procreate in 2008.

So I find it a little ironic that I want to start eating healthier, so I’ve had no meat, chicken, or pork for two days… I’m abstaining from fried foods, and I’m trying to limit my intake of sugar. (Although, I did have a vegan brownie last night with soy delicious “ice cream” and organic sugar from Sage’s Café)… but like I was saying, I want to start eating healthier so I start cooking with merlot. Our house smells divine. ;)

Here’s something else that’s ironic… Danny got me this fabulous COACH bag for Christmas. It’s the new “patchwork” design and I’ve been coveting the design since the violet and cow print was introduced almost 2 years ago… I never got one, until now.

For the cost of my handbag, we could have more than half a month’s rent… or I could feed a child in Africa for a year… that is so not yogi-like of me. I better start praying to Vishnu or something.

****

Part II: More on the Secret

So I have this friend and she is going to REDEFINE the ballsiest thing ever done with the secret... she is getting married on August 8th.

Screw getting rich, loosing weight, falling in love (although, I anticipate and hope the "love" portion would be part of it) ... she has picked a date for her nuptials.

The catch? She is not currently partnered with anyone. She's dating around and just trusting that love will find a way to her by the end of summer.

I love it!

She even called the SLC Temple and reserved the date... and I guess when they asked her the information on the groom, she said she'd have to call back because she was driving in her car. Just "save the date" you know?

Knock and ye shall receive.

In an effort to help the universe support her efforts, I ask that none of you read this and think "yeah right" ... but join me on beautiful side of "belief in miracles" and trust that I will be posting more on her love life soon.

It reminds me of my new year's resolution before I met Danny. "I'm going to the temple." I didn't know how, or why, but I had committed to going to the temple in 2006 and said that whatever the reason I would be ready ... and viola! Danny found me.

In fact, it took Danny and I less than 3 months to pick a date... and BYU co-eds I've know much less than that.

She's got the faith of a mustard seed, I'm just excited to see what the universe has to deliver.

Wednesday, October 24, 2007

1000 Words of Suite Spots (the Wed Chronicles)

It’s Wed night . . . I missed yoga for about the 7th day in a row because of sickness and my work schedule. I hit St. George yesterday and will be back on the road again on Friday . . . but let’s be honest, you don’t read this for my travel log. . .

(Hmm, why do you read this? Feel free to tell me and I’ll try to tailor my remarks for your amusement.)

So “Feist” is playing in the background of our downtown apartment. The living space is uncharacteristically clean for the (Suite-)Mangums. . . truth be told, it usually only looks like this when we’re entertaining. In fact, just last week Danny wanted me to explain why we only vacuum BEFORE the parties, when it’s really AFTER the party that the place needs a good once over.

Admittedly, I’m more concerned about “looking’ put together than actually being put together. (Which is apparent if you look at my purse . . . designer on the outside, a disaster on the inside). And let’s not even talk about the science experiments in my fridge, or the fact that my car hasn’t been cleaned since the summer . . . (I’ve still got decorations from the Church Luau form the summer.)

Oh well, life is a beautiful disaster and I am happy to be a part of it.

So back to the apartment – which, I am happy to report is not a disaster. Some of you may be thinking I am bragging about being a “real woman.” (Is that what “Sister Beck” from the last LDS General Conference referred to it as?) No, I wasn’t the home-maker . . . (you all know better than that!!!)

It was Monsieur Mangum . . . Danny friggin’ cleaned the pad today!!!! It was the best present ever . . . (well, may next to diamonds, but that’s not really a fair comparison is it?)

Hey ladies, have you ever thought about the difference between man’s best friend (a dog) and (diamonds) a girl’s best friend? Well, if you haven’t . . I think it’s pretty easy to point out which is the more refined of the two species. . .

So, my friend Becca Winegar nee’ Whipple, was telling me about how annoying she thinks bloggers that just ramble on about their perfect spouses and families and lives . . . and so in honor of her, I would like to take a moment and point out some things that she thinks SERIOUSLY need to be addressed.

They’re a little controversial . . . so read at your own risk. . . (In no particular order)

• Becca’s anti-secret. . . not to be confused with the deodorant that’s strong enough for a man, but ph balanced for a woman. . . no, she’s anti – THE SECRET. You know? The book, the movie . . . think happy thoughts, the law of attraction, lose weight because you think THIN?!?! In fact, I get out of thinking about how much she loathes this book. Because I am a huge fan!!! I lost 5 lbs in one week on THE SECRET . . .just telling people I could eat whatever I want because I have a high metabolism . . . But then, much like weight watchers, I gave it up . . . and WHAM! The pounds packed back on like the freshman fifteen. . . (B. Wilde, this is not self-deprecation . . . just a fact).
• Point #2 in the Becca Winegar nee’ Whipple tirade. . . Becca is totally ANTI-Bumper sticker. . . here again we have to disagree, though my husband (and my old man) definitely side with her. They drive her crazy (not my old man and my husband, bumper stickers). But man, back in the day [college] when I drove a white 1995 Subaru Impreza (as opposed to my 2005 silver subie hatchback currently in tote). . . well, my car was covered in them. Some of the highlights: “Women make great leaders – You’re following one” and “I think, therefore I don’t listen to Rush” and “Feminism is the radical notion that women are people” and “Free Tibet.” I think I also had a “Sierra Club” sticker at one time when I was sending them money, and an EarX-tacy [www.earxtacy.com] sticker to boot. That reminds me . . . I bought a “namaste” sticker at Golden Braid Books and Oasis Café last month. . . I ought to Christen the new Subie. (Becca, don’t hate me).
• Point #3 is actually where Becca and I find common ground. Although, my husband and his family might be a bit offended by my words. . . but mind you, these are not my words. . . but Becca’s. And so how can you hold me responsible for her thoughts and feelings? Don’t kill the messenger. . . and I quote: “Dogs are not humans.” She then followed this little ditty with advice that they are not to be dressed up, or to expect the rest of the world to have the same sentiments for your puppies that you have. (Brandi Honey doesn’t think puppies are cute either, and I am telling you, this woman is an excellent judge of character. She knew all of my terrible x-boyfriends were losers long before I figured it out.) Anyway, love your dogs. . . that’s fine. Just please don’t expect me to love them with the vigor and intensity that you do. I think they’re smelly, have bad breath and leave hair everywhere . . . it’s really in your best interest NOT to consider them as humans. . . because who wants a friend with halitosis and a body odor problem? And as much as Danny gets annoyed with my “locks of love” decorating the bathroom floor, I can’t imagine fido’s tresses being much more welcome. ;) In defense of my canine loving friends, I do understand that they are part of “your” family…
• Becca is also anti-txt. I am going to save my feelings on that bit for a “Best of Column.” I was dating a guy who thought txting was an adequate form of communication. . . the story that resulted was, well . . . you’ll just have to check it out down the road. . . ☺

Good night my pretties. It’s time to watch Jon Stewart and the Colbert Report. (Hmmmm, re-run. . . never mind),
Anyway, thanks for hanging in there . . . this was a long post. . . we made it through. And now it is time for me to go to bed, in my clean house . . .

PS. I’m flying solo tonight because Danny’s “out with the Boys” which I completely encourage. He’s getting a bit of exercise which I think is great; I like a man who isn’t afraid to sweat. ☺